Americans for a Clean Energy Grid (ACEG) is the only non-profit broad-based public interest advocacy coalition focused on the need to expand, integrate, and modernize the North American high voltage grid.

Expanded high voltage transmission will make America’s electric grid more affordable, reliable, and sustainable and allow America to tap all economic energy resources, overcome system management challenges, and create thousands of well-compensated jobs. But an insular, outdated and often short-sighted regional transmission planning and permitting system stands in the way of achieving those goals.

ACEG brings together the diverse support for an expanded and modernized grid from business, labor, consumer and environmental groups, and other transmission supporters to educate policymakers and key opinion leaders to support policy which recognizes the benefits of a robust transmission grid.

ACEG Board of Directors

The ACEG Board of Directors is made up of experts representing the highly diverse nature of the ACEG coalition, who work on a wide range of energy policy issues but all agree that a modernized, expanded, high-voltage grid is the key pathway to a clean energy future.

Nina Plaushin, President
ITC Holdings Corp.

David Gardiner
David Gardiner and Associates

Dr. Jennifer Chen, Vice President
Duke University’s Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions

Rob Gramlich
Grid Strategies LLC

Bill White
CTC Global

Joshua Burkholder, Secretary
American Electric Power

James J. Hoecker

Carl Zichella
Natural Resources Defense Council

Patrick Hughes, Treasurer
National Electrical Manufacturers Association

John Jimison
Americans for a Clean Energy Grid


John Jimison, a longtime veteran of energy policy issues, is ACEG’s Executive Director. Rob Gramlich of Grid Strategies LLC and David Gardiner of David Gardiner and Associates are ACEG’s Senior Advisors, providing deep expertise and contacts in transmission issues, policymaking, and communications. The staff of David Gardiner and Associates help manage the overall strategy and objectives of the organization. 

Expert Advisory Council

ACEG’s Expert Advisory Council was established to provide an independent source of expertise concerning transmission. We rely on their input to help us maintain our confidence that the positions we take, the statements we make, and the policies we advocate are aligned with the facts and technical realities related to the high-voltage grid, including economic and political realities.

Current members include:

Paul A. Centolella
Paul Centolella & Associates LLC

William F. Hederman
Senior Fellow
Kleinman Center for Energy Policy, University of Pennsylvania

Dr. William W. Hogan
Raymond Plank Professor of Global Energy Policy
John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Dr. Lynne Kiesling
Associate Director
Purdue University Research Center in Economics

Dr. Carl Linvill
Regulatory Assistance Project

Cheryl Roberto
Partner, Utility Transformation & Regulation
Twenty First Century Utilities, LLC

Alison Silverstein
Alison Silverstein Consulting